Exciting times at Camberley Theatre!

Not only has the main auditorium been completely refurbished, (including gorgeous, plush new seats), but there have also been a few promotions and new members of the team welcomed.

Here they are to explain….

Congratulations on your new role at Camberley Theatre! Please can you introduce yourself and let us know your new job title and what that basically involves for you?

Andy Edmeads

Andy Edmeads

I’m Andy and I’ve been a part of the Surrey Heath family for nearly 5 years and have spent 2 years at the Theatre. My job as Venue and Operations Manager includes booking shows, managing the different teams, organising events and producing the pantomime!

Nick Duncan

Nick Duncan.JPG

Hi there I am now the Senior Lighting and Sound Technician. My jobs include liaising with companies to ensure their technical requirements when they arrive are being met. I oversee the live and sound technicians and apprentice technician. I assist with get in and get outs of all shows incoming and our own and look after the over-all maintenance of the building.

Zoe Stanton

ZoeStanton

Hi, I’m Zoe Stanton and I am a Front Of House Officer. My role involves being Duty Manager at the theatre, as well as being responsible for customer feedback and monitoring. I am also taking a leading role in organising and developing children’s parties.

Kayleigh Garland

KayleighGarland

Thank you! I have just taken on the role of Front of House Officer in the theatre and that involves assisting in the management of all front of house operations.  I mainly oversee the bar and events and have some exciting projects lined up to work on including Frimley Lodge Live.

How does your new job differ from what you were doing before?

Andy: I’ve worked in a couple of different roles in my time here but the big change is booking shows; I only really booked the odd comedy gig before so it’s been great to spread my wings and get to know all the different promoters we work with. My big project for 2017 is booking and organising Frimley Lodge Live which returns for its 4th year in August.

Nick: I have been working in an outdoor venue for the last 1 ½ years so the main difference for me is been back inside as I was also a Lighting & Sound Technician before.

Zoe: I was very busy before I started this job role! I was a full time Duty Manager at a leisure centre, alongside being a casual Front Of House assistant at this theatre.

Kayleigh: I previously worked within the theatre team in a similar role as a casual duty manager so my day to day work isn’t vastly different.  However, I do have some more areas of responsibility now and some exciting things to get my stuck into!

 

Have you any goals for 2017, either professionally or personally?

Andy: Our 2016 pantomime, Cinderella, was our biggest selling and most profitable show yet so the challenge is to match it this year with Peter Pan. So I’m really excited for Peter Pan as it’s my favourite story and working on Frimley Lodge Live and some other exciting events which  are a secret at the moment!

Nick: I would like to progress within the theatre hopefully completing a couple of courses through out the year.

Zoe: I have just started taking salsa lessons with my partner, which is something I’ve always wanted to be good at. Look out, Strictly!

Kayleigh: I am currently studying for a degree in Leadership and Management through the Open University and 2017 will hopefully bring me within sight of the finish line!

 

Have you been to any good theatre productions lately – if so, what made it so good?

Andy: In the last few weeks all I’ve seen are pantomimes (8 and counting!) but I’m seeing the West End revival of Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf soon with Imelda Staunton and Twelfth Night with Tamsin Greig – both will be brilliant!

Nick: I went to see Robin Hood at the Mayflower Theatre in Southampton. It was the first time I have seen a Qdos Panto and they really captured the magic in the Lighting, Costumes & Scenery.

Zoe: I went to see ‘A Comedy About A Bank Robbery’ at London’s Criteria Theatre last month. It was hilarious, especially when the set onstage was literally and very cleverly turned on its side and the cast were trying to cross the stage sideways like Spiderman.

Kayleigh: I may be biased, but Camberley Theatre’s pantomime production of ‘Cinderella’ was definitely my favourite of the festive season.  I saw a few, but ours was a winner for me!

 

Thanks for your time and good luck in your new roles!

 

 

Leave a Reply

